Welcome to Lincoln Red Imps FC

The football club was first formed in 1976 by Charles Polson and Charles Head, the latter managing the team.


The club was first formed in 1976 by Charles Polson and managed by Charles Head. A group of players associated to the old Police youth team called the “Blue Batons” and complemented by players that had been released by Glacis United and St Jago’s joined forces to form the first Lincoln team that played in the Gibraltar 4th division. Most of these players formed part of the successful Gibraltar U-15 squad that a few years earlier had made an impression in their tour of Washington and New York.

In 1984/85 Lincoln played their first season in the GFA premier league in which they were joint champions with Glacis United – the first of 7 league titles which were won between 1984 and 1994 . This great Lincoln team was managed by Charlie Head and included players like Stephen Head, Mario Vera, Andrew Serra, Wilfred Gavito, Ian Payas, Frank Barton, Terence Polson, Mick McElwee, Francis Caruana, Derek Alman and Denis Lopez amongst many others. All of these ex-players retain strong links with the current club setup and it can be said that the Lincoln family has a strong and vibrant family tree.

There followed a period of rebuilding and restructuring of the team which entailed replacing the older players with younger ones. Through this the club remained competitive but struggled to win titles. As the younger players grew in confidence and experience, the club’s youth policy began to pay off and the patience the club had shown paid off in a massive way as the next phase of success broke through at the start of the millennium.

A team blessed with once in a generation players like Ernest Galliano, Danny Bonfiglio, Graham Alvez, Robert Guiling, Leigh Ghio, Christian Sanchez, Dwayne Robba, Daniel Duarte began to dominate Gibraltarian football in a way previously not witnessed. League and Cup success began to flow as freely as the football they were playing with managers Charlie Cumbo, Andrew Serra, Stephen Head, Mick McElwee and Dennis Lopez giving the youngsters freedom to express themselves.

There were yet more incredible players coming up close behind. Players like Roy Chipolina, Ryan Casciaro, Lee Casciaro, Sean Duarte, Christian Barbara, Mark Casciaro, Philip Davitt were brought in to strengthen an already champion team with the inevitable result that Lincoln continued to dominate local football to an almost embarrassing degree. As if that were not enough, the Lincoln Youth Academy continued to strike a gold mine of talent with Brian Perez, John-Paul Duarte, Pitu Anes, Lee Muscat, Tarik Chrayeh, Kyle Casciaro, Neal Medina and Jordan Perez joining the party to make an already invincible squad even stronger.

The very rare achievement of the treble (League, Rock Cup and Senior Cup) was made to look effortless in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011 and 2014. League and Rock Cup doubles were made in 2009, 2010 and 2015. A League and Senior Cup double was done in 2012.

But this is a team which will go down in the record books as the greatest in the history of Gibraltarian Football and the one whose legacy is the longest lasting due to their unparalleled achievement of 14 GFA Premier League titles in a row 2003 – 2016. Fourteen years of utter domination has proven the worth of the investment Lincoln has made into the development of youth football stretching back to the mid-80’s. Many of the original boys who formed part of the first junior programmes are still playing and keeping their standards as high as ever in the current squad.

By smashing the previous record of 9 in a row held by the great Glacis Utd team of the 60’s and 70’s, this team now totals 14 league titles  in a row. It has woven itself into the fabric of Gibraltarian football. We are privileged indeed to be watching them make history each season. The current squad includes the recent additions of hugely talented players like, Joseph and Kenneth Chipolina, and George Cabrera as well as yet more younger generation players such as Anthony Bardon, Jean-Carlos Garcia, Leon Clinton, Dean Torrilla and Alain Pons.

On the international stage, since the entry of Gibraltar into UEFA, Lincoln has proudly carried the Gibraltar flag into three Champions League campaigns. In 2014 we made history by being the first Gibraltarian team to participate in the world’s greatest club competition losing in the first preliminary round to the champions of Faroe Islands after getting a commendable 1-1 draw in the first leg. In 2015, Lincoln reached the second preliminary round after beating the champions of Andorra with a wonderful 2-1 result in the away leg. Eventually losing to Danish champions Midtjylland in the second round was no disgrace and history had already been made with the first ever Gibraltarian victory in European club competition. In 2016, Lincoln once again reached the second round by beating the champions of Estonia (Flora FC) with a memorable 2-0 home victory which put them through to the second round where the mighty Glasgow Celtic awaited. What was to follow will live long in the memories of all those who witnessed events on July 13th 2016. A vintage piece of Lee Casciaro magic allied to a superb defensive performance gave Lincoln the greatest result in Gibraltarian club football history and sent the Scottish Champions (and previous European Cup winners) packing 1-0. The result astounded the entire football world and made headlines around the globe. Lincoln went down 3-0 in the second leg in front of a massive 50,000 crowd at Parkhead but the first leg result was testament to the huge strides the club had made in the 3 years since entering the Champions League for the first time.

Lincoln has also provided the backbone of the Gibraltar national team in its inaugural participation in the European Championship Qualifiers. Ten group matches where Roy Chipolina, Jean-Carlos Garcia, Joseph Chipolina, Ryan Casciaro, Liam Walker, Anthony Bardon, Lee Casciaro, Kyle Casciaro and Mikey Yome have pitted their wits against some of the best players in world football. This has been a taste of what Gibraltar’s footballers can all expect in the coming years. They are now participating in their first FIFA World Cup Qualifying group as well.
With such an array of talent, not only is the current squad arguably the strongest ever assembled in Gibraltar, it also makes the future a very bright one for Lincoln to continue to be the most successful club in Gibraltarian Football history.




  • Gibraltar Football League: 22
1984–85, 1988–89, 1989–90, 1990–91, 1991–92, 1992–93, 1993–94, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2003–04, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2006–07, 2007–08, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2010–11, 2011–12, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16
  • Rock Cup: 18
1985–86, 1988–89, 1989–90, 1992–93, 1993–94, 2001–02, 2003–04, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2006–07, 2007–08, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2010–11, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16
  • Gibraltar League Senior Cup: 18
1986–87, 1987–88, 1988–89, 1989–90, 1990–91, 1991–92, 1992–93, 1999–00, 2001–02, 2002–03, 2003–04, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2006–07, 2007–08, 2010–11, 2011–12, 2013–14

Remember latest Champions League Qualifying